Coffee

My drug of choice.  Glorious black coffee. Untaitned with sweeteners or milk fats.  Pure beautiful coffee.  I feel that so many of us are oblivious to the history of coffee throughout the world.  How it has influenced the world as we know it.  We take it for granted the rich full-bodied story of this magical little bean.

Here in the US, we have had a very passionate love for coffee.  A true sign of political rebellion against the crown of England.  What?  Do you think we gave up morning beverages during the Boston Tea Party?  Hell no!  We, rebellious Americans, simply started drinking coffee in an effort to avoid giving the crown any more taxes from tea consumption.

Over the centuries, we have come up with a plethora of coffee preparation techniques, and even more recipes that contain coffee.  So many of us can not go without our morning dose.  I am on my 3rd 6 ounce cup right now, which is usually my limit.

We are dependent on its tasty benefits completely unaware.  According to Coffeechemistry.com, coffee helps out the not so good eater from having more serious health issues.

Now, I keep drinking coffee so I do not get a throbbing migraine.  In an article on Medical News Today states that magnesium production is reduced when we drink coffee.  In an effort to get better sleep, my doctor suggested taking magnesium supplements.  So I gave it a whirl, and then had the worst series of migraines I have ever had in my life. Which leads me to believe that the overproduction of magnesium is what  makes my migraines so unbearable.  I’ll keep drinking coffee thanks.

 

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

Leave a comment