POOF-a-Meal Zone

I am not a professional cook in any way.  I still try to be an amazing cook.  Learning about food has made a huge difference in my life.  It has helped me grow as a human, and understand the world just a little more.  I feel that cooking adds depth to my artistic nature.  I also feel that my artistic nature feeds my love of cooking. I ponder endlessly of the possibilities that are in front of an aspiring artist such as myself.

The Zone is one of those possibilities.  Throughout my artistic “career” the best pieces I have created came from the Zone.  The loss of time, the dedication to the piece just took me over.  Then it was done, and I can’t explain how it happened. The Zone is so nice, and feels so good. It is achieved through the purity of the art. Approached with a sober mind and the readiness to dive in. Like a starting gun at a race, one word starts it all “Okay!”

When I am in the zone time disappears. I am constantly coordinating my next five steps, gathering, measuring, prioritizing, minimizing, cleaning.  My roommate always asks how long I was in the kitchen when I make stuff.  I don’t always have an answer for her.  On those days I tell her “As long as it took to make this.”

POOF-a-meal!

As many of us home cooks know, it isn’t always as simple as just throwing this in to add to that and POOF-a-meal.  Even though we do that POOF-a-meal thing a lot, it can get complicated sometimes. For her it is instantaneous.  For me, it was a day long journey through research, prep work, and execution.  Yet it only seemed to have taken a moment, or did it? Hard to say when it takes over the soul.

The food I create can bring my audience, the eater in this case, to the edge of the Zone.  They can feel what it took to create what has been presented to them.  Bearing witness as they eat and try to define what they feel.  Usually escaping in a series of grunts, groans and mmmmms.  Which i will take as a fair assessment of the end product.

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

Leave a comment