Baking for Bribes

YARG!  I do hate being sick.  All normal activities I love to do are put on hold.  Namely, things I do with my hands, such as everything!

Cooking is out because of the coughing and sneezing, not to mention the fatigue of working.  Writing is out because of cold meds making me too dizzy to sit up for any extended period of time. Exercising is out because of coughing, sneezing, fatigue, and fever.  One with a fever should not take extended walks when it is cold and rainy outside.

So what have I been doing if I can’t do the things I love?  Marathon watching all Star Trek’s (except Enterprise) on Netflix!  And read all the cookbooks I have on baking.  To be fair, I don’t have many.  However, the ones I do have are really great for initial research on whatever it is I want to bake.

Secondary research has come in the form of baking competition shows.  Specifically The Great British Baking Show.  There is vital information on shows like that for the beginner baker and/or cook.  The competitors often give little secrets they have learned or know of on techniques for the thing they are making.

Now that I am on the mend, I can put to use what I have learned over the past two weeks.  So after the phase three inductor relay compensation on the life support system, I will be trying my hand at making a Genoise cake.

I have made cakes before. I will admit here and now, they have mostly been from the box mix variety.  All of the cakes I have made from scratch have only been met with mild success.  I am brave, and I have read about 30 different recipes for Genoise, and I feel I am ready for this challenge.

It’s a cake!  Why should anyone ever be intimidated by making a cake?  Good question.  A cake has to have distinct characteristics to be considered good; it must be delicate, have a nice rise, light texture, and be moist.  I am a beginner baker, so for me this is going to be a test of patience, and technique.

Why put myself through this kind of self torture?  Another really great question, and time for a big confession or two.  I have been unemployed now for a while, and I mean besides being sick.  I have a great resume, and impeccable skills, blah blah blah, but the world is harsh, and I am still unemployed. Looking for a decent job takes a lot of effort and patience (there is that P word again). Cooking takes my mind of not making money, and puts me in a place of peace and happiness, it makes me feel like I am still contributing to the household, and my roommate typically loves what I make.

This past week I tackled French macarons, though I did not sandwich the cookies, I left them plain.  They turned out terrific!  Wait, no, that isn’t totally true.  They are evil little bite size morsels of evil.  EVIL.  Once you eat one, you move onto a dozen more!  EVIL (I can not stress this enough) In one night my roomie and I polished off most of the batch because they were sooo damned good.  I mean EVIL, so damned evil!

The day after I made the evil delights, I got a call from a shop I had applied for saying they wanted me to come in for an interview.  I was really excited to say the least.  As I was preparing for my interview, I chose a super smart flattering outfit, printed my resume twice, and bagged up the last 6 of the evil concoctions for the guy who was supposed to interview me.

That’s right, I am bribing my way into this job position.

It got me a second interview, and I go in for my third on Monday (tomorrow) morning with the owners daughter.  Yes, I will be bringing yet another fantastic bribe for my interviewer Sarah.  This time I am thinking Genoise cupcakes!

If any of you have any advice on Genoise, or the filling and icing I should use, please let me know.  And wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

Leave a Reply

