Elixir of Productivity

The coffee made me do it!  I was just laying in bed, content to be sleeping, minding my own business when I had to get up and make a pot of coffee.  That means: grinding the beans, boiling the water, washing the press from yesterday’s coffee, telling the dog she had to wait for me to get dressed to go out.

There wasn’t a morning in my childhood that didn’t have the amazing aroma of coffee brewing. Coffee, it is ingrained in the lives of Americans more than they know.  During the Revolutionary war, in rebellion against the King of England the colonists drank coffee instead of tea. Here in America, we all grew up with coffee running through our proverbial veins.

I have always loved coffee, although, I have not always been a coffee drinker. Of course I am now, like right now, I had to stop writing just to make a fresh pot.  As a kid, I would basically flavor cream and sugar with coffee. Was it creamy and delicious?  Yes, very much so.  But I always had this romantic notion of drinking black coffee.  Thanks Squeeze!  How I got to black coffee is a whole different blog.

When I first arrived at work yesterday, I had to be reminded the order of operations in which I do my duties (several times),  all because I didn’t consume at least 20 fluid ounces of coffee before work.  So I got everyone laughing about it to cover up my  lack-of-caffeine-induced-stupidity. Excellent cover up.

When I had a chance, I went to the break area to see if there was a pot of coffee going.  sure enough, there it was in all of its steamy hot glory.  I grabbed my travel mug, and poured myself a new  cup.  As I poured it, the color of the coffee was… well, the color of used over used motor oil. I pressed on, maybe it was just older coffee.  The voice in the back of my head was screaming “Don’t drink it!”

I move on about my duties, and head out to a client’s shop when I took the first and only sip. The only thing right about it was the temperature.  It was one of the foulest substances on the streets of Portland.

When it was time for my break, I had to make a new pot.  When I went to clean out the old filter and grounds, I noticed that the filter had been over flowed with coffee grounds for 12 cups of coffee. ending up with truly black coffee.

With my passion for food and nutrition, I do my research on everything that I ingest.  I feel that I owe it to myself to know what I am fueling my body with.  I am not alone in wanting the very best for myself, even down to something as simple as making coffee (or tea for that matter).

Who did I turn to for advice?  When I was first getting into coffee for myself, I asked a coworker who was literally 98 years old,  Gramma Thelma.  She told me the way she liked it was one heaping teaspoon for every cup of coffee in the coffee maker. I followed her guidance word for word.  She was right, it was excellent!  Then I broke it down, turns out the well rounded teaspoon we used was a normal everyday spoon one would find on any restaurant table, was a measure of one tablespoon.

My research went further!  Folgers coffee was my next avenue of coffee knowledge,  where there is a coffee measurement calculator.  I entered the amount of cups on the workplace maker, and sure enough, Gramma Thelma’s instructions were right.

Armed with this knowledge, I am going to take some proactive efforts by supplying my coworkers with a brew chart so I am not subjected to sledge again.  I am willing to go as far as supplying work with the proper measuring devices too.

Awww Gramma Thelma, I can hear her giggling about this now as we did over so many morning cups.

 

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

Leave a Reply

