From the Beginning of Time

Culture can often be defined by many things. Two major things: Food and Music.  These are the two things that have been with us longer than countries have had borders, longer than written language, longer than just about everything. Humans learn rhythm even before they are born and learn to eat! And we all know how long it takes us to learn how to refuel ourselves. Music and food have out lasted everything, and have grown to describe street and home cultures around the world.  Go to any cultural festival, aromas of the food will fill your senses. and you will hear music constantly of that corner of the world.

When I am cooking, at times all day long, I need to have music on.  Sometimes, my room mate will be the DJ and spin vinyl for me. Other times I have my Pandora blasting. The music is an integral part of my cooking processes.  Achieving the Zone can only really be done with the proper musical vibe happening.

Naturally, with the music comes along singing to my ingredients.  That usually happens more when the roommate is being DJ.  We have a set list we like a lot, beginning with the Blues Brothers.  Many an amazing meal has been created over the Blues Brothers.  The energy behind their music is so uplifting, and always seems to create a positive environment, and the need to dance.

Some might think that it isn’t wise to dance with a sharp knife and an onion at the same time. I beg to differ.  It is almost a nightly occurance in my kitchen.  I love watching people cook at home, especially when they get to singing and dancing. Yes, dinner and a show.  Almost like those Benihana restaurants that were so popular back in the 90’s.  Are those still a thing?

The joys of food and cooking are never ending for me. Simple living in all of its complexity.

 

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

1 thought on “From the Beginning of Time”

Leave a Reply

