For the love of bloggers

I love blogging, and reading blogs.  This is my social media.  I get much more out of blogs than I ever would get out of other avenues of social media.  Thanks to all of the passionate people who blog, I can learn about aspects of society on a much more intimate level, without being a nosey bitch about it.

I hear a lot about “white privilege” and wonder what that is all about.  I always assumed it was the fact that I wouldn’t be hassled by the cops for no good reason.  To be fair, I never got hassled by the police, even in my rough and tumble teen years.  I managed to not even get a traffic infraction (knock on wood).  I want to make it clear, that is the only thing of privilege I have ever seen in my life.  I have had to work really hard for everything I have, and that isn’t very much.

Being part of the human race has made me fairly tolerant of other humans, having to fight for my entire life has made me a softer human as well.  I want to understand where the idea of “white privilege” comes from, so I turn to blogs.

I have also been following the path of “Black Lives Matter.”  I am not going to go into the typical all lives matter nonsense that usually is included in most BLM conversations.  My response to BLM is “of course they do.” Understanding the perspective is important.

From my experiences, I have seen the racism first hand, and it always makes me reel in confusion. It is an easy card to throw around when a person is a racial minority. But also a very slippery slope. So many people are racially blended, especially here in America.

It still confuses me, so I turn to bloggers once again for answers that no one can seem to say. Sometimes I want to share blogs with other bloggers, so they can see the perspectives as well.  Perhaps show the authors that the words they share have a much deeper meaning and inflection than they realize.

The world will take a while still to get the fact that we are all just part of this bigger thing flying through space at thousands of miles an hour.  It will take a while for the concept of being cool with each other to catch on.  We have made huge strides in acceptance, but the journey is far from over.

We are not individual snowflakes.  We are living organisms that can learn. We can learn from the things we fear and hate, like how to respect and tolerate perhaps even love and admire. Thank you to all the people who blog, and share their opinions, ideas and philosophies with the blogging world.  You are all so very much appreciated!

 

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

3 thoughts on “For the love of bloggers”

  1. Because I’m going to a liberal womens college, “white privilege” is all we talk about. This is a hard concept for me because I grew up SUPER poor. I’m not sure if you read one of my first blogs but we seriously lived in a garage for 6 or 7 years. My parents worked their butts off so being “privileged” is something I NEVER thought I was. However, when it comes to simply JUST race, we are indeed privileged (at least that’s what I’m being taught). Going to the bank, getting a mortgage, better schools and education, better healthcare. We get these things not because we ask for them or even want them but it is easier for us to get because we are white. Some say its not on purpose, its just the way it is regardless if YOU (or me) believe it or not. This is a hard concept for me to grasp but learning more about white flight in the housing market, red-lining during WWII, and the education system, its hard to deny that this happens every day and most of us just take it for granted even though we don’t mean to.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Banks??? a mortgage?? Better schools?? better health care (guffaw)! These are not things that I have any access to… so again, white privilege is beyond me. So living any other way is an alien concept.
      It’s definitely not hard to deny that white people are oblivious to the plights of “ethnic minorities.” But, they are also oblivious to the living conditions of most other people as well. Of course, I say this because I am oblivious, it’s why I read all y’alls blogs.

      Like

  2. I try not to get political on the blog, which is exactly what I love about it. In this community that we’ve built, identity is what we make of it; race, gender, education, economics are all irrelevant. It’s our words that matter, and like you’ve said, that touch us deeply and provide a sense of belonging that is rare out in the broader public sphere. Thanks for such a beautiful reminder of that fact.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

