project progress

Setting things in motion starts so slowly sometimes.

When I was a child, I loved to draw and color and paint.  My family was convinced that I was going to become the next Rembrandt. By the time I was in kindergarten, I was more advanced than a lot of the kids when it came to coloring time.

I had a library of coloring books at my disposal at home and at relatives houses. Every christmas I would get crayons AND colored pencils. One of the few things my mother denied me was access to her oil paint set.

This was all fine for me, except one thing: The subjects of the coloring books were BORING! I wanted more from my coloring books, so at the early age of 6, I made it a life goal to make the best coloring book in the world.

Skip forward 30 years.

In the early 2000’s I found myself teaching art at a local youth center.  Rembrandt? No. Doing good for future minds? YES!

When I first started, say about a month into this 6 year gig, one of the younger girls told me it was her birthday, and asked me to draw her a picture.  We had a conversation about where she would love to go for her birthday, she told me a bunch of different places. To keep things simple, I drew a landscape of tropical islands with a big smoking volcano. This quick sketch began the journey of the perfect coloring book.

One hundred twenty-five images later, that took about 5 of the six years I worked there to finish it, is in my opinion a perfect coloring book.

Now I have this new perfection i am striving for. Last night I was focusing on the menu, which is so so far from being complete.

Life is awesome with all the different paths we can take.

Author: comfortdeliveredhome

I am completely obsessed with food and cooking. Here I can share my ideas and opinions about cooking, and food.

Leave a Reply

